About

Logo of Higher Education Academy

This project is part of the UK-wide Open Educational Resources (OER) programme, where JISC (Joint Information Systems Committee) and the Higher Education Academy are collaborating with the aim of enabling higher education institutions, consortia and individuals to share learning materials freely online as well as explore cultural, technical and pedagogical issues involved in the OER development, discovery and use.

The project seeks to cascade support for embedding Open Educational Resources within the social sciences curriculum, focusing on the relationship between the use of OERs and student engagement. The overall aim is to develop a better informing of the process of using OER to support curriculum development in the social sciences domain. The project puts a particular emphasis on embracing a participatory pedagogy and so aims to create a space for students to become involved in creating some new course material as open teaching resources.

Contact details for the project team and academic partners are as follows:

Project Co-ordinator, Anna Gruszczynska, C-SAP (Higher Education Academy Subject Centre for Sociology, Anthropology and Politics, University of Birmingham) a.gruszczynska@bham.ac.uk

Project Consultant, Richard Pountney, Sheffield Hallam University R.P.Pountney@shu.ac.uk

Critical Friend / Evaluator, Helen Jones, Manchester Metropolitan University h.jones@mmu.ac.uk

Project partners:
John Craig, Teesside University, School of Social Sciences & Law j.r.craig@tees.ac.uk

Phil Johnson and Craig Hammond, University Centre at Blackburn College, Criminology P.Johnson@blackburn.ac.uk and c.hammond@blackburn.ac.uk

Delyth Morris, Bangor University d.morris@bangor.ac.uk;

Dafydd Trystan, Cardiff University trystand@Cardiff.ac.uk

One Response to About

  1. It would be nice if you could update this page – it seems like a very interesting project, but it’s hard to get an overview when just coming to your blog from a search engine or a link.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s